Yuri Vella (Yuri Kylevich Aivaseda) passed away

2006-13-35 copy

My most important teacher and great friend passed away. I am with my thoughts and heart now in the village of Variogan and at the Tiuitiakha river settlement in Western Siberia. It was hard at the first moment but how to survive, how to live a responsible life that’s what he tried to teach me first of all. I am worried now about the future of the world he invited me into.

Northern Lights over Lapland

Northern Lights over Lapland

In the night of his death and the following night we saw such great northern lights here in Lapland that I could believe that a great man left this world and his steps became visible this way. I promise to do everything possible to preserve what he created. My friends and I plan to publish his poetry in German translation. I want to express my heartfelt sympathy with all relatives and friends of Yuri Vella.

Yura and me looking into a well we build.

Yura and me looking into a well we build.

Ушел из этой жизни мой главный учитель и лучший друг. С мыслями, с сердцем я сейчас в Варьегане и на стойбище на Тюйтяхе. Когда узнал, было тяжело на душе, но я помнил о том, что как дальше жить, учил меня именно он. Меня очень волнует судьба того мира, в которой он меня пригласил.

In 1994

In 1994

В ту ночь, когда его не стало и на следующую ночь мы здесь в Лапландии видели такое сильные северное сияние и хочется верить, что большой человек отправляется в путь и шаги его отражаются таким образом. Буду сделать все, чтобы сохранилось то, что он создал.  Мы планируем с друзьями издавать его стихотворение и на немецком языке. Выражаю соболезнование всем родным, близким и друзьям Юрия Вэллы.

On his birthday in 2008

On his birthday in 2008

Mein wichtigster Lehrer und Freund ist in der Nacht zum 13. September gestorben. Mit dem Herzen und mit meinen Gedanken bin ich jetzt im Dorf Varjogan und auf dem Wohnplatz am Fluss Tjuitjacha in Westsibirien. Ich erinnere mich daran, wie viel ich  von ihm über Verantwortung und Überleben lernte und das hilft mir jetzt. Mich beunruhigt in diesen Stunden vor allem die Zukunft der Welt in die er mich einlud. In der Nacht seines Todes und in der folgenden Nacht sahen wir hier in Lappland ungewöhnlich viele Nordlichter, die einen glauben machen wollen,  sie seien die Schritte eines großen Menschen, der diese Welt verlässt. Ich kann ihm nur versprechen alles zu tun, um das zu bewahren, was er geschaffen hat. Mit Freunden plane ich die Herausgabe seiner Gedichte auch auf Deutsch. Mein Beileid allen Verwandten und Freunden von Juri Vella.

Yuri Vella

Yuri Vella

About Stephan Dudeck

Anthropologist at the Arctic Centre of the University of Lapland in Rovaniemi, Finland, the Centre for Arctic Social Studies at the European University at Saint Petersburg and the Centre of Arctic and Siberian Exploration at the Sociological Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
This entry was posted in Memory, Portraits, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yuri Vella (Yuri Kylevich Aivaseda) passed away

  1. chumrabotnitsa says:

    Довелось познакомиться с Юрием Вэллой, когда работала в Ненецкой школе-интернате. Была чудесная встреча с ребятами:смотрели фильм, разговаривали, смеялись. Земля ему пухом! Его азбука оленевода-наука нам

  2. Pingback: In Memory of a Great Teacher | Arctic anthropology

  3. Pingback: Yuri Vella’s celebrated at Tartu World Film Festival | Material World

Leave a Reply

